Australia's largest renovations forum

Hire the best painter and save up to 40%

Go

pine lining boards for ceiling

Novice

Default pine lining boards for ceiling

Hi, I want to line a ceiling with pine t&g ceiling boards (133x12) but have never done anything like this before and need some advice. A timber supplier has quoted for ROM (run of the mill?) Merchant and Utility grade boards. What is the difference in quality and which would be most suitable for lining a ceiling? ROM was the dearest through to Utility being the cheapest. I am guessing the boards should be painted with a clear polyurathane? Should they be painted after they are installed or before?
    Someone also suggested buying a nail gun and compressor. Any suggestions on which nail gun to get? I am not a professional but want a gun that will do the job and last. If I have to join boards should they be joined anywhere or at a mid point somewhere? Anything else I should know about putting the boards up? thanks Spin.

rrobor

Are you unmarried or separated. My advice is ask the fairer sex. Your idea is 1950, please dont do it. You will chop heaps off your house value and in 4 years you will have a yellow nondescript ceiling. You may love the idea but thats you. there are few like you.

Novice

Well you have me confused now rrobor . In Tassie many timber homes have pine boards lining the ceiling (and walls) and it seems very popular. Are you saying the pine boards are the issue or are you saying dont put any lining boards on the ceiling at all? Spin

rrobor

I do believe I am. Tazzy makes sense.

My 1918 cottage has timber t&g ceiling boards and I have just added the same in the new extension (50 sq m). They are painted white and have never turned yellow.
    Anyone who walks into my house comments on how they love the timber ceilings.

I guess to each is own!