1890s Miner's Cottage Reno

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast
    House Husband - 1K Club Member
    Upper Ferntree Gully, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

Ahhhhh! Now we see where the daughter gets it from!

3K Club Member

Quote Originally Posted by sundancewfs View Post
    Ahhhhh! Now we see where the daughter gets it from!
    Hee hee. Yeah, chip of the old block. (not so old....sorry Dad)

He's a fitter and turner by trade so never had any building experience except for just having a go and has done some incredible stuff. Building a stair case, etc.

Early on in his attempts to construct things, he made some drawers and being that he was used to the perfection of working with metal, he made it so perfect that the drawer had no room to move. He had his own sort of learning curve to deal with.

3K Club Member

Finally, some progress on the deck!

Since last Thursday I've been working on the deck. I have put aside the driveway and drainage for a bit as I have to wait for the ditch to be dug down along the property to the storm water drain and the asphalt to be laid.

Hopefully that will happen some time soon after Christmas. I'm off work till the 10th of Jan and in that time hope to finish the deck, see the asphalt on the driveway in, put the drainage in place, build a side fence to keep the dog in the back yard and hang some doors for a local couple.

Ok. So, the deck is coming along nicely. I have most of the posts, bearers and some of the joists in place and it's starting to look quite grand.

It's been a bit of a process and I've had to deal with a house that isn't straight and am happy that all is relatively level and square and all that. Some of the posts are a little bowed and I'll deal with that when I get to the handrail stage but for know, I'm pretty stoked to be at this stage.