New bathroon from existing toilet room [with progress photos]

Novice

Default New bathroon from existing toilet room [with progress photos]

Hello,

Just thought I'd share my progress of or current renovation.
    I'm new to renovating and working on houses etc.

My background is office based being a Draftsman in a civil engineering company.

Renovation:

- Build a new bathroom from an existing toilet/handwash room (located upstairs and directly above the main toilet and bathroom)

Please see photos and write up:

Stripped the existing room including asbestos cement sheet underlay (mid 1970's original build without any further modifications & no I didnt know about Asbestos at the time - no education or knowledge. minimal PPE used part of the exercise) but anyway i'll put that incident right at the back of my memory keep future safety awareness at the front!

3 walls are being retained and the 4th being the existing internal wall (non-structural) with some water fixtures & blanked off and demolished.
    New wall built about 400mm outwards to allow more space for a shower base & vanity etc.

New flat ceiling frame & electricals all roughed in.

New plumbing connected into existing (lucky there was hot & cold already routed here) to new locations. new wastes.
    Then the new flooring, Scyon Secura Interior Flooring glued & screwed to existing floor joists. I really like it, its strong, easy to cut an you can install directly on joists (no mucking around with cement sheet underlay nailed to timber floor boards).

Jointed with polyurethane adhesive then crommelin waterproof membrane.

Wall plumbing prepped and villaboard screwed, sealed and waterproofed.

Plastic fantastic shower base glued down with davcon ultraflex tile adhesive (seems to work ok?).

Patch & plaster new walls/ceiling.

Install Clipsal brand IXL style heat/light/fan & other wiring. (not me)