Hire the best Air conditioning and Heating Experts

air con split system install

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Just Tinkering Don777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hampton Victoria
    Age
    64
    Posts
    52

    Default air con split system install power

    Hi All

    About to get a Split System put in my apartment, getting a couple of quotes, wanted to know about options of getting power to the unit, as the unit is concrete block internal walls, brick out side, concrete floor and ceiling.( ground floor with one floor above ).
    the problem is power is on opposite side of room ( internal wall) from where the new Air Con system is going ( outside wall )( it is where old elec heater was, running on it's own fuse ).

    How can they run the power ? Aussie duct , behind timber skirting with recess, or what something else ?

    would like some ideas of how they would do, so when they come to quote, i can know if they is only one way to do it, or it all a matter of money, as well as being the right way...

    And before somebody thinks it, no i am not doing this myself. the install will do it.


    Many thanks Don, looking forward to being nice and warm
    Everything looks better with a ( or two ) glass of Red

  2. #2
    Novice
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    23

    Default

    firstly check what size fuse the old electrical heater has an compare that to the air con as you mite be able to use this circuit. if you cant you can always rip up carpet and chase the floor (you could do the chase yourself), conduit. if the old heater cable has been run in conduit in the slab you may be able to pull it out and push a snake but in a lot of old places the didnt use conduit just laid the cable directly.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    188

    Default

    In my experience it is had for some one to get the body corperate to approve any thing that involves chasing a external wall or floor.

    Best idea is to check the cable for the heter and you can use this cable to put in a larger cb if needed, as he has said above

  4. #4
    Golden Member nev25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Latrobe Valley Victoria
    Posts
    695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AIRMAN View Post
    larger cb if needed,

    Now theres a fire waiting to happen

    Get a sparkie in to have a look

  5. #5
    Just Tinkering Don777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hampton Victoria
    Age
    64
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Hi guys

    looks like a no go, the wire to the old heater 15amp fuse Wire looks like 2.5sq mm power stuff, but it runs inside concrete block wall, no conduit.

    As far as the body corparate, I am chairman, and two other units have got split system installed, so no problem there

    Have an installer coming out next wednesday ofr look and quote

    I was looking at small toshiba dc hybrib inverter 2.5kW cool 3.2kW heat
    on the spec sheet is only states max amps 5.95

    oh well don
    Everything looks better with a ( or two ) glass of Red

  6. #6
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kalgoorlie
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Don777 View Post
    Hi guys

    looks like a no go, the wire to the old heater 15amp fuse Wire looks like 2.5sq mm power stuff, but it runs inside concrete block wall, no conduit.

    As far as the body corparate, I am chairman, and two other units have got split system installed, so no problem there

    Have an installer coming out next wednesday ofr look and quote

    I was looking at small toshiba dc hybrib inverter 2.5kW cool 3.2kW heat
    on the spec sheet is only states max amps 5.95

    oh well don
    Hi,

    I'm pretty sure the aircon your looking at is just a 1 - 1.5hp unit and therefore does not need its own 15amp circuit and can be plugged into a standard 10amp gpo near by. It will come with its own plug which is attached to the indoor unit.

  7. #7
    Just Tinkering Don777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hampton Victoria
    Age
    64
    Posts
    52

    Default

    HI all

    Have had an installer out to quote about $1200 to install ( i supply unit )
    this is not including running electrical cable from opposite side of room

    Ddoes this sound a lot?, i know it's not an easy install, distance between indoor and outdoor unit is 3.5m up and 7m across the roof, will all piping cover.

    Cheers Don
    Everything looks better with a ( or two ) glass of Red

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    188

    Default

    The going rate for a standard back to back in Brisbane is any where from 300-800 about 400 is reasnoble with no electrical. But your install is far from standard, I would also be getting in a sparky to see how much the power is going to cost you to run. You have a total run of about 11m, allready thats $100 more than normal in pair coil plus extra gas, without seeing the job and the access to the roof it's hard to comment, but the cheapest way is to prob get a sparky that can install the unit and power at the same time.

  9. #9
    Just Tinkering Don777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hampton Victoria
    Age
    64
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Hi All

    Just to finish the thread off, had split system installed on thursday,
    yes he did use the connect to the heater fuse, and ran the wire in aussie duct around the bottom of the wall. all looks very neat and tidy inside and out... particularly after aussie duct painted to match wall colour....
    and it works a treat,,, heats half the flat no worrys... it is great to be warm

    the cost $1400 install... plus unit which i got through work..

    Don happy and warm now ( and wondering why i didn't do this ages ago )
    Everything looks better with a ( or two ) glass of Red

Similar Threads

  1. split system cables
    By zelig in forum Electrical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th Jul 2009, 11:33 PM
  2. problems with split system install
    By davo_scuba in forum Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 25th Feb 2008, 11:56 AM
  3. 3 phase split system
    By tcns in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st Dec 2006, 12:03 AM
  4. Reducing cost of split system Air Con install
    By Wildman in forum Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2006, 07:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •