Hire the best Air conditioning and Heating Experts

Mini orb on wall behind wood heater

Novice

Default Mini orb on wall behind wood heater

I am new to renovating but both myself and my partner are obsessed by the idea of framing mini orb on the walls behind the wood heater that will sit on a slate hearth in a corner of the lounge room. I haven't been able to find much info about it on the internet other than it is advised to leave room between the mini orb and the wall for air flow. Is there anyone who could give me any more information?

4K Club Member

Seen this done many times, first response is always to ask you local council to see if they have any specific requirements but in one friends house she had to use cement sheet behind and against the wall with vertical steel "U" or "Z" brackets, the mini-orb screwed to the brackets and a 25mm air-gap between the cement sheet and the mini orb and all the way, floor to the ceiling. from memory the gap at floor and ceiling was also 25mm to allow the air to move ( it was single skin flue and it was a while ago- these days I think a double skin flue is the minimum) and the gap had a layer gal steel angle against the sheet on the wall.

I have seen similar installations where two layers of steel were required by council, each with a 25mm air-gap, the first steel sheet usually flat plate and often decorative pierced plate used as the second, visible shield.
    I love the look of these myself and I'm trying to convince the Minister of War and Finance to plan a wood fire for our extension.

Moondog has it fine. Basically you fit Rondo furring channel to the wall behind the fireplace and attach the miniorb to that with wafer head screws. Top or frame out out the wall with a metal flashing to suit and you are done.
    Joined RF in 2006...Resigned in 2020.

1K Club Member