Hire the best Air conditioning and Heating Experts

Moving a split-system aircon.

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    8

    Default Moving a split-system aircon.

    Hi, would anyone know if it is much grief to move/remove the head of a split-system air conditioner? I presume the moving can be diy, but the dis/connecting isn't. Now here's the thing - is disconnection/re-connection something that can be done quickly while i've got a plumber out for some other work, or is it more painful?

    We've bought a new house, which has a split-system in the lounge. Unfortunatly it's right where we want to put our wall unit and tele, etc. We're going to get a ducted gas heater put in, so should have the appropriate trades stopping in for that.

    -Rabbit

  2. #2
    Ni! funkychicken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Meringandan
    Age
    29
    Posts
    7

    Default

    The unit should just come right off the wall bracket easily. The problem would be the pipes.

    A recovery unit would probably be need to suck out the gas, then you'd undo the locking nuts.. or cut the pipe, I forget.

    If you're moving the unit elsewhere then pipes would need to be extended, you'd have a hole in the wall to fix, another hole to make and a whole lot of fussing about

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, WA
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dylanrabbit View Post
    Hi, would anyone know if it is much grief to move/remove the head of a split-system air conditioner? I presume the moving can be diy, but the dis/connecting isn't. Now here's the thing - is disconnection/re-connection something that can be done quickly while i've got a plumber out for some other work, or is it more painful?

    We've bought a new house, which has a split-system in the lounge. Unfortunatly it's right where we want to put our wall unit and tele, etc. We're going to get a ducted gas heater put in, so should have the appropriate trades stopping in for that.

    -Rabbit
    You will probabally find your plumber is unable to do the work, you need a refrigeration lic to do that kind of work.

    It wouldnt be cheap in any case, the unit needs to be decommissioned (reclaim the gas, disconnect the piping & electrics), then the inside unit itself needs to be moved to its new position, moving the electrical, new piping ran between the inside/outside unit, if its not on an external wall you need a drain chased into the wall, reflared, and reconnected, then the unit need to be put on a vaccum pump and ALL the air sucked out of the system for a good hour or so.

    Then they can release the gas they reclaimed back into the piping, and maybe add more if the unit has moved further away from where it currently is. Then you will be done!

    Might not be worth it...

  4. #4
    Heavy Machinery Claw Hama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    209

    Default

    Rab, find yourself a good local refrigeration mechanic, DO NOT USE A PLUMBER!! The only thing in common with a plumber is that the pipes are copper it's not even the same grade of copper. The pipes must remain perfectly clean and free of dust and moisture (humidity) you can't kink the pipes or stress the walls or they will leak.
    Get a Fridgie
    A good edge takes a little sweat!!

  5. #5
    Golden Member nev25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Latrobe Valley Victoria
    Posts
    695

    Default

    Is the head unit hard wired or plugged into a power point.
    You may need a Sparkie too

  6. #6
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Claw Hama View Post
    Rab, find yourself a good local refrigeration mechanic, DO NOT USE A PLUMBER!!
    Ok, Refrigeration Mechanic, not plumber, not gasfitter.

    So it won't be the same person as to do the gasfitting then. There is also a 35 year-old gas wall furnace that needs to be turfed....

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    317

    Default

    Where are you located Dylan Rabbit?

    Dan.

  8. #8
    Apprentice (new member) gyro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Adelaide
    Age
    75
    Posts
    7

    Thumbs up moving a split system

    Need a frig tech, he will pump the refrigerant back into the outdoor unit and seal off the valves on the outdoor unit. Then dicsconnect the indoor unit and wiring as he would have an electrical licence to do this. move the unit, reconnect and vac out the pipes then release the refrigerant back into the indoor unit and test for leaks and do a electrical compliance certificate.

  9. #9
    Golden Member nev25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Latrobe Valley Victoria
    Posts
    695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gyro View Post
    . Then disconnect the indoor unit and wiring as he would have an electrical license to do this.
    In Vic The fridgie would more than likely just have a Disconnect-reconnect (P grade)Electrical license.
    Which means as you are moving location extra/new cable will need to be run so an Electrical contractor will have to be involved.

    Extremal rare to find a Fridgie with an A grade electrical license here in Vic as duel trades are for some reasons frowned upon by the plumbers board

  10. #10
    Dances with splinters Skew ChiDAMN!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Paper bag on side o' road
    Age
    62
    Posts
    1,142

    Default

    Fridgie aside, there are two other things to consider:

    1. How far away do you want to move the unit? If you need to run longer lines you'll probably need to add extra gas. It may be cheaper/more practical to move the outdoor unit as well, depending on final location of header unit. (The fridgie should be able to advise you on this when you get a quote. You do plan on getting a quote first, don't you? )

    2. Fixing the old holes. You don't say what the exterior of the house is? Bricks are easily enough replaced, weather-boards take more effort and cladded/rendered walls give the biggest headaches. (Unless you're happy to simply nail some gal sheet over the hole... but then I doubt you'd be asking.)
    I may be weird, but I'm saving up to become eccentric.

  11. #11
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    8

    Default

    If shifting the compressor, this sounds more effort/expense than a new install.

    Thanks for the input. This is a bigger job than I thought... but at least I know that before starting.

  12. #12
    wood welder
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    43
    Posts
    133

    Default

    Just get an electrician with an arctick licence. Job done in one hit.

    Remember fridge mechanics have no understanding of electricity, have neither the mental capacity or physical ability to size, run and connect a NEW circuit with a 16A circuit breaker, yet can design and build some of the most complex control systems, as long as it's not hooked up at the time.

    Nor can they run water or drainage to a process cooler with integrated humidification.

    But plumbers and sparkies CAN install, commission and decommission an 18KW A/C unit.

    God Bless the unions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 102
    Last Post: 11th Feb 2008, 10:06 PM
  2. error code F6 Mistral split system aircon
    By bulkyboxbob in forum Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2008, 03:56 PM
  3. installing new split aircon system DIY
    By jolybean in forum Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2006, 08:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •