Hire the best Gas Fitter

Everything squeaks?

MBe
    Apprentice (new member)

Question Everything squeaks?

Hi there,

Complete plumbing newbie here and a bit confused. Wondering if someone can advise.

It all started with a dripping tap in my kitchen - it had been dripping for a few weeks already and doing my head in, so I decided to watch a YouTube tutorial on how to fix it. I watched this one here, my tap is pretty much identical apart from the handle.

I closed off the water not through the main supply but through one of the isolation valves under the sink. I should note that I turned it round a gazillion times as I wasn't aware that it only took a small movement to turn off the water. Not sure if that has caused an issue.

Took the parts out from the cartridge, I did notice the ceramic discs had some minuscule damage on them but as they are no more than 5 years old I figured this would be fine. The cartridge was mostly very dirty (completely black stains on certain parts?) so I cleaned it all in limescale remover.

Put it all back together again and opened the isolation valve; this started a heavy squeaking noise just by turning the valve, not even touching the tap. Putting pressure on the tap (not opening or closing it, but just pushing it in) would change the noise or block it temporarily.

Took the cartridge apart a few more times, put it all back together again and opened the valve: no noise this time, but water was running freely from my tap. With the tap closed.

A short panic attack later I took the cartridge out again, changed the direction of the top ceramic disc (as I'm not sure which part should be up, mine looks slightly different from the one in the video), put a tiny layer of Vaseline on the discs and put it all back together again very tightly this time.

It worked - water flows when I open the tap, it stops when I close the tap. No dripping. Yay.