Hire the best Electrician

Cable run to pumphouse

Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Jan 2023
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    6

    Default Cable run to pumphouse

    I would like to run power over to a 9sqm pumphouse im building. Inside I only need a single light and a double GPO (charger for tool batteries and a small dam water pump).

    Being 140m away from the main board, im hoping to trench and lay the cable then get a sparky to connect both ends to keep the cost down.

    Im just not sure what size cable would be ok with voltage drop.

    Any advice?
    TIA

  2. #2
    4K Club Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sunshine Coast
    Posts
    4,129

    Default

    Trench it ? yes, 700mm deep.
    Lay conduit and cable 140 m ? no,
    Talk to the sparky first bc they are responsible for all the install.
    Then if they approve of you doing the conduit and cable install you are safe.

  3. #3
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Jan 2023
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Why 700mm? 600 is more than enough.
    Electrician has already been happy for me to do this with other cables and I wasnt asking for your permission
    Im more wondering what my options are so I can work out cost.

  4. #4
    Senior Member ForeverYoung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Location
    Perth Hills WA
    Posts
    321

    Default


  5. #5
    1K Club Member havabeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    nsw
    Posts
    1,153

    Default

    Is solar and some batteries cheaper then 140m of trench, cable and hook up etc
    Remember if you don't sin, then Jesus died for nothing

  6. #6
    7K Club Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Geelong
    Posts
    8,301

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by havabeer View Post
    Is solar and some batteries cheaper then 140m of trench, cable and hook up etc
    In normal circumstances I'd have said No, install solar on the main dwelling, but 140m is indeed a long way for a very small install. Gotta do the numbers...!

    OP needs to be careful with responses to some knote-able members - they get a little sensitive... either they disappear or never let go

  7. #7
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Jan 2023
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Unfortunately with batteries, I believe solar would be more expensive and theres only 9sqm of roof space available(farming land).
    I have my own trencher on the bobcat, powerpoint, light and some conduit(76m) so I would be looking mostly at the cable cost, CB and the sparkys time to fit off.

  8. #8
    4K Club Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sunshine Coast
    Posts
    4,129

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wilba84 View Post
    Why 700mm? 600 is more than enough.
    Electrician has already been happy for me to do this with other cables and I wasnt asking for your permission
    Im more wondering what my options are so I can work out cost.
    My permission ???????????????????

    I'm just trying to save you from yourself and quite often people come on here first time and ask electrical questions simply so they can do the work themselves.

    It's not important to me either way who does it

    From my experience 600 is the minimum cover requirement

    so 700 gives ample cover whereas a 600 trench does not give the required cover

    Also are you aware of the requirement to install electrical warning tape above the conduit and the depth required for the tape ???

    Like I said, ask the sparky

    Can't go wrong then.

  9. #9
    4K Club Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Geelong
    Posts
    6,506

    Default

    What's the voltage drop over 140 metres?
    "A big boy did it and ran away"

    Legal disclaimer denying responsibility to be inserted here.

  10. #10
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Jan 2023
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Moondog55 View Post
    What's the voltage drop over 140 metres?
    Depends on load and cable size, theres online calculators for this.

    Cyclic everybody else but you is trying to be helpful, put your ego aside your causing trouble for no reason.
    I couldnt do it without a licenced electrician supplying the cable anyway at that length, you simply cant buy them.
    I was simply asking for options so I could calculate the cost of them.

  11. #11
    Golden Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Melbourne - Yarra Ranges
    Posts
    971

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wilba84 View Post
    I would like to run power over to a 9sqm pumphouse im building. Inside I only need a single light and a double GPO (charger for tool batteries and a small dam water pump).

    Being 140m away from the main board, im hoping to trench and lay the cable then get a sparky to connect both ends to keep the cost down.
    TIA
    Voltage drop, distance and size of cable are dependent on load required. "Small" pump is subjective.

    Cyclic raises a good point (and has nothing to do with ego) however if you really have a good relationship with a sparky as you mentioned in later posts, then quick chat would yield the info you require to ensure the correct cable is costed, installed, warning tape requirement and depth (the depth is measured to the "Top" of the conduit, not the bottom as per the regs).

    Edit: You don't need a sparky to buy the cable regardless of length

  12. #12
    1K Club Member Pulse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Port Macquarie
    Posts
    1,751

    Default Cable run to pumphouse

    Just adding to above, depth is normally 500mm cover so 600mm is heaps.

    As stated above get the sparky to buy the cable, the trade discount will be worthwhile, might need pits along the way too. Iím not a sparky but canít imagine pulling that size cable over that length.

  13. #13
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Jan 2023
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    6

    Default

    16mm tps would be over 1kg a meter, theres no pulling that sort of weight. It literally makes no sense for me to buy the cable, no trade discount, a 500m drum to avoid joins(no pits, farming land)is way to much $$ when I dont need it all, the drum would be over 500kg.

    I came here to enquire about options/cost, Thanks for the help

  14. #14
    4K Club Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sunshine Coast
    Posts
    4,129

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wilba84 View Post
    Depends on load and cable size, theres online calculators for this.

    Cyclic everybody else but you is trying to be helpful, put your ego aside your causing trouble for no reason.
    I couldnt do it without a licenced electrician supplying the cable anyway at that length, you simply cant buy them.
    I was simply asking for options so I could calculate the cost of them.
    Gees don't know where that came from but as usual I will continue to try to assist anyone on here.

    FWIW you don't have to buy 500 metres, you or your sparky can simply contact a supplier with your requirements (140 metres) and they will arrange to supply that amount through their supplier, however
    a cutting fee will most likely apply.

    At #14 you mention 16mm tps ??...No one has mentioned that here so not sure where you got that from.

    Good luck with your project.

  15. #15
    Golden Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Melbourne - Yarra Ranges
    Posts
    971

    Default

    ...you dont have to buy the entire drum, can be purchased by the meter either XLPE bundled cable or 2 separate double insulated copper....once its sized correctly. The latter is generally cheaper

    and correct way too long to pull it through...lay it out on the ground, thread on the conduit, glue and drop into the trench

  16. #16
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Jan 2023
    Location
    QLD
    Posts
    6

    Default

    At #14 you mention 16mm tps ??...No one has mentioned that here so not sure where you got that from.

    That was what my electrician recommended after contacting him, why is that an issue?


    ...you dont have to buy the entire drum, can be purchased by the meter either XLPE bundled cable or 2 separate double insulated copper....once its sized correctly. The latter is generally cheaper

    Thanks thats very helpful, would it not be 3 SDI including the earth?

  17. #17
    Seasoned DIY droog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bendigo
    Age
    58
    Posts
    3,228

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wilba84 View Post
    That was what my electrician recommended after contacting him, why is that an issue?
    Your original post was asking the question on cable size without any indication of actual load requirements, just double GPO and single light.
    But your electrician has already advised what his requirements are, would you expect him to connect up 2.5mm2 cable you buried if someone on the internet said that was all that was required ?

  18. #18
    1K Club Member havabeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    nsw
    Posts
    1,153

    Default

    for the cost's you're talking about in cable size. sounds like its a much cheaper job to either go solar... or just use a petrol generator.

    the numbers chucked into a cable size calculator says you need a 10mm cable to cope with a 3% voltage drop. seems like you're looking at $1000 just for the cable, let alone all the work trying to install it
    Remember if you don't sin, then Jesus died for nothing

Similar Threads

  1. What is this cable???
    By lazydays in forum Television, Computers & Phones
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 29th Dec 2015, 11:24 PM
  2. What's ths cable for?
    By aaronjthompson in forum Television, Computers & Phones
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2015, 01:03 PM
  3. what cable is this?????
    By yournightmare in forum Electrical
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 28th May 2013, 09:43 AM
  4. What size cable and cable run
    By tricky4000 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 1st Jul 2011, 06:57 PM
  5. cable help
    By nik04 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20th Oct 2006, 07:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •