Hire the best Electrician

Circuit Breaker

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    353

    Default Circuit Breaker

    Hi,

    Is it possible for circuit breakers to ever be faulty?

    Cheers
    MH

  2. #2
    Timber Hoarder Cliff Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Minbun, FNQ, Australia
    Age
    64
    Posts
    1,950

    Default

    Yeap, it is an electro-mechanical device....
    If electro-mechanical devices didn't fail, I wouldn't have a job.
    Cliff

    ...if all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail...

  3. #3
    Retired Marine Engineer 1K Club Member Ashore's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Age
    70
    Posts
    1,647

    Default

    YES happens all the time they are only a mechanical device and will wear out, break down, get dirty, etc
    Ashore




    The trouble with life is there's no background music.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Thanks Cliff & Ashmore for your replies.

    The reason I asked is that the wife and I have had to do without lights in the back half of the house (over the past 3 nights) which I assume are on the same circuit. Thus, I checked all the circuit breakers in the main electical box and they are all in the same position - on.

    However, I am hoping (again) that my electrician can make it around to our house tomorrow night, in order to find the prolbem(s).

    Cheers
    MH

  5. #5
    Timber Hoarder Cliff Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Minbun, FNQ, Australia
    Age
    64
    Posts
    1,950

    Default

    That sounds more like a loose connection somewhere early in that circuit like at the breaker or at the first socket.
    Cliff

    ...if all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail...

  6. #6
    1K Club Member DJ's Timber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    East Warburton Vic
    Age
    52
    Posts
    500

    Default

    If you know which breaker it is, try flicking it on and off a few times.

    If that doesn't work, I would leave it off as it might be a problem with a loose or chewed wire which could arc out, causing a fire.
    Cheers

    DJ

  7. #7
    Senior Member DavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Conder, ACT
    Age
    75
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Lights are usually one a single circuit. If part of that circuit is missing then I would suspect a faulty connection.

    If the breaker was faulty then all the lights would be out.

    Ignore this if there are two light circuits.(2 breakers for the lights)
    For the best results I use -

Similar Threads

  1. Adding a new power circuit
    By hardy in forum Electrical
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2011, 12:15 AM
  2. Plug-in circuit breakers
    By simmiv in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th Oct 2007, 10:45 AM
  3. Breaker puzzle!
    By benp in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2007, 05:34 PM
  4. Circuit breaker / Wire Size combo
    By Tool-Horder in forum Electrical
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 8th Apr 2007, 11:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •