Hire the best Electrician

Circuit for IXL Tastic Light/Heater/Fan

INFP

Default Circuit for IXL Tastic Light/Heater/Fan

I'm renovating the bathroom, which will include getting a small IXL Tasstic style light/heater/fan installed. It features 2 x 275W heater lamps plus a 100W standard lamp, plus whatever the fan uses. What is the maximum load which can be drawn by a single fitting on a lighting circuit?.....or will it need to be run from a power circuit?

Flyn, I'm no electrician, but a simple equation is P = IV, where P is power (Watts), I is the amps and V is the voltage.

You have 2 x 275 lights, plust a 100W light and a fan, which at most would probably consume around 50 watts. Thats 700 watts total.

Your voltage is 240V, so your current consumption will be 700/240 = 2.9 amps if all items are on.

The light circuit should be a 10 amp circuit, so your 2.9amp tastic should be fine. You have to look at what else is likely to be on the circuit at the same time, but I assume you will not have the equivalent of 17 or so 100W lights on at the same time as the tastic.

Just remember.. I am not an electrician... and neither are you.

Hi Flynn

Tastics come with either 275 or 375 watt heater globes and may have either 2 or 4 globes per unit. In our fairly small bathroom (approx 2x3m) we put in a Tastic with 4x275 watt globes. We now wish we had bought the unit with 375 watt globes.

The heater is rarely on for extended periods, you want the heat quickly when you do switch it on - that's the way people use bathrooms - and you can always run it at half heat (But we never do!).

The sparky put the Tastic on the light circuit - the light switch on the Tastic also controls the other lights in the bathroom.

Cheers

Graeme

150W is the limit last time I checked AS3000 . The tastics should be on their own circuit or on a mixed circuit.

Cheers
    Pulse

1K Club Member

It doesn't count as a lighting point as such. But it could go on a mixed circuit or its own circuit.