Hire the best Electrician

Ducted air off single phase? or do I need 3 phase?

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    never finished
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16

    Default Ducted air off single phase? or do I need 3 phase?

    We're looking at purchasing another home, and this one is 25 years old in an area that has underground power cables. The house only has single phase.

    Will this restrict what we can run in the way of a ducted unit?

    What's the biggest ducted unit you can run on single phase power?
    One online estimate came up with a 14.7kw external unit.


    It's a fairly large 4 bedroom, living, family etc place - all spread out, making it difficult to cool with 2 (or 3) split systems like we currently get away with in our 3br house now.


    If I do have to get 3 phase put on, what sort of cost factor is there in getting 3 phase up to the house? (it's approx 12m from the street gutter to the box, and all uphill, so no idea where the current supply trench is located).

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    62

    Default

    What's the biggest ducted unit you can run on single phase power?
    One online estimate came up with a 14.7kw external unit.
    Its fairly common to install a 7.5 to 8kW unit and zone it so that it will work in your living area OR your bedrooms at the flick of a switch. This is something to keep in mind, unless you need to cool the whole house at the same time you can get away with a slightly smaller unit and zone it accordingly. But without looking at your house its hard to make the call.

    In regards to the power issue, obviously the ratings mentioned are heating and cooling capacity, not electrical energy used. Things you will need to know include, full load current draw of the airconditioning unit, size of existing consumers mains into your switchboard and an approximate of the existing load on the installation.

    Just some things to consider, i know it wont help you much, but it would be really easy to determine what you need if you get a tradesman out to take a look for you and offer the appropriate advice.
    I accept no liability or responsibility for advice offered by myself regarding Electrical or Airconditioning related questions. I strongly advise contacting a Licensed Tradeperson for all work of this nature.

  3. #3
    never finished
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I ended up phoning my electricity supplier, who told me I needed a "Level 2 service provider" to install 3 phase from the street to the meter box.

    Here's the site they told me to look up for a list:
    http://www.deus.nsw.gov.au/energy/energy.asp

    So anyway, I rang the closest one to me, and his response was "it's gunna cost a bomb mate, just get a Bonaire unit, they go up to 15kw in single phase & I've installed heaps of them, and it will have no probs unless you live in Buckingham palace"

    So I looked up the Bonaire website & found this:
    http://www.bonaire.com.au/refproducts/b015.html

    It's rated at 14.7kw, single phase, but as noted above, there's a lot more to the ratings than a simple number, so I'll have to read the specs carefully.

    I'd hate to think how many amps it's gunna pull on startup!

  4. #4
    wood welder
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    41
    Posts
    133

    Default

    The unit has a soft starter which will reduce the start current.

    I run an 11kw single phase unit without a problem.

    If they weren't worth using they wouldn't build and sell so many of them.

    You can go up to 15.5kw with a single phase inverter with Daikin.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    ACT
    Posts
    337

    Default

    I have the Daikin inverter 15.5kw which is single phase.
    It cools our 2 story 37sq home in QLD if that helps

  6. #6
    never finished
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thanks Dan,

    We're going with a 14.7kw Bonaire unit. If yours works well in Qld, considering the climate & space you're servicing, then mine will be brilliant in a milder climate & smaller house.

Similar Threads

  1. 3 Phase Question
    By mdfdust in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th May 2007, 11:13 PM
  2. 415V single phase
    By dman in forum Electrical
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12th Nov 2006, 09:13 PM
  3. 3 phase at home
    By Com_VC in forum Electrical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd Aug 2006, 04:21 PM
  4. 3 phase plugs - 4 or 5 pin
    By FlyingDuck in forum Electrical
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 9th Jul 2006, 11:16 AM
  5. x phase wiring?
    By Programmer in forum Electrical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th Jun 2006, 11:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •