Hire the best Electrician

Lights on a power circuit

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    16

    Default Lights on a power circuit

    Hi all

    Was helping a friend with a bit of work on his carport and we damaged a part of the conduit running power to the fluro lights, in the process of replacing the conduit I noticed the lights were connected to the power circuit at a weatherproof gpo located nearby, is this allowed, should then have also been a light circuit run out to the carport, do we need a sparkie to come in and rewire this?

    Cheers
    Andrew

  2. #2
    Community Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Queensland
    Posts
    7,586

    Default

    Yes you can do that but the cable must be 2.5mm not the light 1 -1.5 MM

  3. #3
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    16

    Default

    ok, didn't realise that. I assume you use the 2.5mm cable so that if there is a short circuit, the cable can handle the 15amp load from the power circuit.

    Thanks
    Andrew

  4. #4
    Tool Whore - 1K Club Member Vernonv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Armidale NSW
    Age
    50
    Posts
    1,181

    Default

    The reason the cable normally needs to be 2.5mm2 is because the breaker supplying the circuit is more than likely rated to protect 2.5mm2 cable - it will not adequately protect 1.5mm2 cable in case of a fault.
    Cheers.

    Vernon.
    __________________________________________________
    Bite off more than you can chew and then chew like crazy.

  5. #5
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Goldie
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Although easy to fix its even easier to f@ck up, and death is a realistic outcome. You really should have any electrical work carried out by an electrical contractor. It is legal to do what is done, but with certain requirements. Switchboard should have that particular circuit marked as MIXED CIRCUIT. And if not already, and RCD on the cct.

Similar Threads

  1. Adding a new power circuit
    By hardy in forum Electrical
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 11th Feb 2011, 11:15 PM
  2. solar power lights
    By Billym in forum Solar Electrical Systems
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 15th Dec 2009, 05:31 PM
  3. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 19th Aug 2009, 09:45 PM
  4. what are those lights called that turn on when power goes off?
    By wozzzzza in forum General Odds & Sods
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th Apr 2009, 10:13 AM
  5. Circuit Breaker
    By Metal Head in forum Electrical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2007, 11:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •