Hire the best Electrician

Split Conduit

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Purveyor of Fine Firewood Dean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD, Australia
    Age
    45
    Posts
    184

    Default Split Conduit

    Is this stuff readily available in Oz?
    http://www.conduitrepair.com/product...ctConduit.html

    Anyone know...

    Or is there such a thing for repairing underground electrical conduit that has been damaged?
    Woodworking Product Reviews - Over 180+ Online

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sydney,Australia
    Age
    68
    Posts
    143

    Default

    Maybe you could get them to send you a case load for a review on your web site? Haven't seen it in Oz myself.

  3. #3
    Diamond Member Barry_White's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Kentucky NSW near Tamworth, Australia
    Age
    84
    Posts
    1,196

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bsrlee View Post
    Maybe you could get them to send you a case load for a review on your web site? Haven't seen it in Oz myself.
    Pity it's only in imperial.
    Regards Bazza

    Skype Username: bazzabushy

    "Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards."
    -Vernon Sanders Law

    The views expressed by the poster are general in nature and any advice should be taken in this vein. The poster accepts no responsibility if this advice is used. When undertaking any work personal professional advice should be sought from suitably qualified persons in the field of work being undertaken.


  4. #4
    Senior Member NCArcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dean View Post
    Or is there such a thing for repairing underground electrical conduit that has been damaged?
    Never seen the split stuff in Aus. How badly is the UG conduit damaged?
    Photos?
    Aoccdrnig to rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a total mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit porbelms. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.

  5. #5
    Apprentice (new member) panzon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    1

    Default

    This is not the correct product for underground cabling repairs. It does not meet ASA 2000 for that application.

  6. #6
    Golden Member nev25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Latrobe Valley Victoria
    Posts
    695

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dean View Post

    Or is there such a thing for repairing underground electrical conduit that has been damaged?
    There are plenty of PVC products available for this purpose

  7. #7
    Resigned SilentButDeadly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Not here...
    Posts
    5,154

    Default

    I suspect that this stuff (while a nice idea) is not actually intended for underground installations....but without a data sheet it is a bit hard to tell.

    You can repair PVC pipe using a coupling that has a screw down fitting over a rubber gasket on both ends but fitting will mean you'll need to cut the electrical cable....and I've never seen one small enough for conduit. But use them frequently for irrigation pipe...bloody handy!!
    Joined RF in 2006...Resigned in 2020.

  8. #8
    rob
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    mayland W.A
    Posts
    272

    Default

    i think that you will find that Panzon is right and that it is used for data cable .for in wall applications
    i just installed two channels of the retangles 25 mm by 50mm in the wall that my plasma screen will go on . great stuff no more visable cables and there is heaps of extra space if i ever want to add something .

  9. #9
    notanapprentice dan76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    central queensland
    Age
    46
    Posts
    51

    Default

    use a resin kit to repair the cable

Similar Threads

  1. Conduit for shed slab.
    By Com_VC in forum Electrical
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 6th Apr 2008, 12:00 PM
  2. Putting electical conduit under driveway
    By jeremy in forum Electrical
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 1st Apr 2008, 07:58 PM
  3. Roughing in pipes/conduit for my shed
    By Ashes1 in forum The Garden Shed
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Feb 2008, 04:14 PM
  4. electrical conduit
    By emptybucketman in forum Electrical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st Jul 2007, 03:51 PM
  5. Locating conduit in floor
    By kandjc in forum Electrical
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd Jun 2007, 07:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •