Hire the best Decking Expert

Decking Project- Attaching Bearer to Brick Veneer & Fence Post or Use Ground Screws

Apprentice (new member)

Question Decking Project- Attaching Bearer to Brick Veneer & Fence Post or Use Ground Screws

Good day all!

I've been reading quite a lot on the topic of building a deck and have decided to post some questions about my decking project. I would greatly appreciate any advice from you all!

This is my first time to try to build a deck. The area is approximately 2 metres by 5 metres. I plan to use 140 x19 mm or 140 x 22 mm merbau, that would run parallel to the house. The decking will be approximately 150mm off the ground.

The intention of the deck is to have a "bar-b" area and also as an extended living area for social occasions when the weather permits.

Here are some of the issues that I am facing:
    1. I would like to use the brick veneer on the other side of the house
    to attach the bearer/ledger. Is this advisable? I've read a couple of threads about this topic in the forum but have not found a definitive answer. If yes,
    what are the methods that can be used in doing this? It not, I intend to use ground scews (with related question below, #3)...
    2. I would like to use the existing fencing post on the other side (please see photos) to attach one of the bearers/ledgers. Is this advisable as well? I'd asked a couple of relatives and they've advised me to dig new holes to put it 2 new posts. I also use these posts later on to build a pergola as well.
    3. If not, I'm thinking of using Ground Screws Stirrups and use the
    800++mm deep ones. There have been a couple of threads about this as well, but used for cubby houses. I was wondering if anyone has actually used them for decking and pergola, and hoping for any feedback?
    According to the geologic report when we built our home, the
    soil type is "H" and the founding material is Silty Clay. Please