Hire the best Decking Expert

Laying Joist ??

Novice

Default Laying Joist ??

Hi all I am building my deck at the moment and because it is half on concrete and half on dirt I was wondering if I can lay my joist on the 90 face down rather standing it on the 45 as this would make building the deck easier and I do know it would not be structural but i will add extra pieces of timber underneath each joist to make it stronger

?? What are the joist being supported by?

Whats half on concrete and half on dirt got to do with it?
    I'm no expert, but know enough to be dangerous...

Mmmm, no.

Definately not recommended

Old Chippy 6K

The answer is that a sensible answer can't be given with that info. You can pay a joist on its flat - but that changes the dimension used for working out a suitable span (it is now 45mm deep not 90mm). If timbre is directly over concrete is not unusual to lay the 'joists' as battens on the flat. So need much more info - or pics or a sketch of what is proposed.
    Advice from me on this forum is general and for guidance based on information given by the member posing the question. Not to be used in place of professional advice from people appropriately qualified in the relevant field. All structural work must be approved and constructed to the BCA or other relevant standards by suitably licensed persons. The person doing the work and reading my advice accepts responsibility for ensuring the work done accords with the applicable law.

Quote Originally Posted by R3N0-S View Post
    can lay my joist on the 90 face down rather standing it on the 45
    This question is exactly why the government brings in legislation to limit the work undertaken by owner builders.

FatMax

Quote Originally Posted by Brickie View Post
    This question is exactly why the government brings in legislation to limit the work undertaken by owner builders.