Hire the best Decking Expert

New merbau decks and screens - my journey

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Novice

Default New merbau decks and screens - my journey

Just wanted to share my journey with you all, discuss ideas, suggestions, etc. Please do let me know if you have any, as I am an absolute beginner. It will be the first time in my life I will do something like this, and I wanted to increase the chances of doing it right. With that in mind, I will be a little bit detailed below - so others can take advantage of the information and also be able to contribute.

Right now, I am preparing to coat the wood (most specifically trying to find out what I will use first). I will apply the same product to all of it. My guidelines/facts:

F0) I've had 2 new merbau decks and 2 merbau screens built

F1) I live in Melbourne

F2) I have a total of 45sqm to coat. My decks were built using a hidden screw system called ekodeck quickfix (sold at bunnings). The screens were built using regular screws

F3) 28sqm of it (one large deck) are in the northwest part of my property, with 3/4 of it covered (alfresco).

F4) The rest is east facing, with the deck being 100% undercover (though it does get light in the morning)

F5) I don't mind having to apply a new coat of product every once in a while

F6) However, I want to minimise and/or eliminate more complicated tasks, such as sanding

F7) I intend to use the best product I can - no point in saving 80 bucks a tin and then suffer grim consequences latter

F8) I want to preserve as much of the natural merbau look I can, for as long as I can

F9) If I am to use a tint, I don't want a dark finish. This is because I have timber windows and sliding doors, and they are already stained using intergrain natural finish (by the builder)

F10) I prefer a matte or satin finish. I don't like gloss finishes

The products I am looking at, at the moment, are

O1) Cutek Extreme (non tinted or with one of the lightest tints possible - like sola brown)