Hire the best Flooring Expert

Damp and Sub Floor Ventilation in 1880s Victorian

Apprentice (new member)

Default Damp and Sub Floor Ventilation in 1880s Victorian

I'm relatively new to this game but have been trawling through these forums lately and have found so much great information. I have an 1880s solid double brick Victorian in Melbourne that's showing high moisture levels around the lower parts of the inner walls which I'm trying to diagnose and resolve. My current theory is inadequate subfloor ventilation combined with previously poor drainage has left the subfloor quite damp and is leading to moisture being drawn into the walls which can't escape easily due to internal cement render and external painting.

This is a bit of a brain-dump but I hope it gives a bit of context:

- There are no obvious signs of rising damp (efflorescence, etc.) however the paint on the walls has lifted in spots and peels away really easily leaving bare plaster. Judging by old real estate photos the paint job looks like it was done in ~2007. The plaster itself looks relatively new, I'm guessing within the last 15-20 years. Beneath that appears to be a cement render (photo attached) before you get to the brick itself.

- Externally the brick has been painted. Not sure the history of this.

- A very helpful chap came by and checked for moisture levels at the 2m mark thoughout which returned nothing, making me think it's not penetrating/falling damp.

- Judging by Google Earth the roof was replaced in ~2016 and may have been leaking prior to that. There are noticable repairs/new paintwork in corners of the ceiling.

- The previous owner had the downpipes just dumping directly onto the earth/pavers on either side of the house. We fixed this ~3 months ago so they're now diverted out to storm water.

- There's currently no access traps for subfloor access but there appears to be ~220mm between the earth and the floor which is a suspended timber floor.