Hire the best Gazebo Expert

Permit for a pergola?

Novice

Default Permit for a pergola?

Howdy all. Im a carpenter who has just started building a pergola over my back deck. I recently finished renovating the house, all with council and building permits, but I didnít think far enough ahead to think a pergola would be a good idea and hence never got a permit for the pergola.

I have extended the handrail posts at the front of the deck with a big half lap joint and 2 x m12 cup bolts and battens screws and heaps of glue bonding it all together, and then installed Roof Extenda Brackets on the top plate/into the rafters at the start of the eaves. The roof area in the end will be approx 12sqm, and at the lowest point at the front of the deck (fall towards the front of the deck) will be approx 3m high (hopefully less).

Iím starting to get a bit concerned about what happens regarding the lack of permit. Iím on a corner block and the back yard can be seen quite easily from the street. Our only direct neighbour is in the process of selling their house soon-ish but they have said theyíve ok with me building the pergola.

Can anyone advise of the process of what happens if I get caught out without a permit? Is it something that I can retrospectively get issued if need be, or when we sell the house in the future? Would it be worth me getting a roof plumber to do the roofing and gutter etc so I have a certificate in case I need it in the future (rather than doing the roofing etc myself)?

Cheers in advance!

Pergolas by (my and my council) definition don't have a roof and don't need a permit.
    What you have, if you put a roof on it, is called (by my council) a patio and needs a permit.

ps: they define roof as non permeable, so you can have a roof frame but not sheeting.

Novice

Quote Originally Posted by ForeverYoung View Post
    Pergolas by (my and my council) definition don't have a roof and don't need a permit.