Hire the best Bathroom Renovator

Apartment Bathroom Reno-just cosmetic but have lots of curly Qs.

Apprentice (new member)

Default Apartment Bathroom Reno-just cosmetic but have lots of curly Qs.

G'Day all and sorry for previous post-i put my user name as subject. Yes, i am an amateur. Just needing some help with apartment bathroom reno as we have had bad luck with Tradespeople so far and our strata company are bloody hopeless.
    Our job is this.... Replace everything in a bathroom that is 2 mtr x 4 mtr but keep configuration of bathroom the same and use existing pipe connections and everything. Replace tiles and waterproofing and new showerscreen. Our walls are cement over double brick and we are even keeping old powerpoint.Nothing more....
    Do i need D.A approval for this work?
    My Hungarian father-in-law will be coming from overseas to do most of the job- he is a master builder and is very experienced with all bathroom stuff.
    Do we still need to be owner-builders with his qualifications? We are also getting plumber from down the road to do all connections and plumbing and think it may be prudent to hire a waterproofer for the warranty and insurance issue.
    We got quoted $17 050 from one bathroom company for labour not including fixtures or tiles-is this normal?
    Also,is it normal to ask your Strata company for permission to do your bathroom and please provide necessary steps so we can get this done within strata guidelines and then get no reply for over a week? Should i write again or leave it a little longer?
    We just want to do everything right the first time and not p. anyone off or run into legalities.
    Thanks so much, i hope someone can shed some light.

First of all - you want to do everything right the first time .... good on you!