Hire the best Bathroom Renovator

can't remove goose neck bath spout - help!

Default can't remove goose neck bath spout - help!

Hi,
    i'm in the process of changing the old tapware in the bathroom and have come into a couple of problems.

firstly, please excuse the terminology, i'm no expert and may not call something by its right name

** PROBLEM 1

I can't for the life of me remove the flange that the goose neck spout sits in.

The flange cover that sits against the tile can be spun around, but it's the bit that is above that.

I've put my finger in the hole and felt that there is a join but I just can't get it off.

The taps are older brass style and the house is about 20 odd years old.

** PROBLEM 2

I've gone to install new wall taps for the shower and the existing plumbing is sitting deep into the wall. With the new tap, I can't screw it in no matter how far the tap is extended. Does this mean that I need one of those tap spindle extenders? Is that the right terminology? If so, what plumbing place is recommended.

** PROBLEM 3

I need to remove the basin taps too, any pointers on how to do this? i'm 'assuming' everything needs to be unbolted/screwed from the underside of the ceramic basin.

** PROBLEM 4
    I want to change the brass drain thing that sits in the sink and bath - any pointers on how to do that for me too please??

I'd love to get a plumber out who can do this but I just don't have the funds to pay for one. It took me long enough to save for the tap ware given we are a single income family!!

I've also attached photo's to help )

Thanks for your help...

Any pointers please...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails gooseneckbase.jpg   basintapware.jpg   bathdraincover.jpg  

Ask me anything

problem 1:

maybe try some vice grips? the shiny picture on the left is it right? you say that the bas of it can freely spin? silicone is normally used to keep it in place after its screwed down, so maybe try and get a razor blade under it.