Hire the best Painter

How long before i can put scotch blue tape on new paint

Apprentice (new member)

Default How long before i can put scotch blue tape on new paint

I have just put a second coat on my ceiling.

How long before i can mask it so ican paint the walls which are besser bricks.

I am really new to painting so not masking is not an option as i cant cut in properly

If you are talking about masking the underside of the cornice..
    Chances are no matter how long you leave the paint to dry, if you mask that area expect sections of the paint to come off with the tape..
    This topic has been covered many times..

Golden Member

Quote Originally Posted by Troymccarthy View Post
    I am really new to painting so not masking is not an option as i cant cut in properly
    Even though I'm not new to painting, I still can't cut in very well...

But I've found that the "Shur-Line Paint Edger" is quite good for this. It's a pad with little retractable wheels.
    As long as you keep the wheels clean when reloading the pad, it's great. Here's a review:

Review: Shur-line Pro Edger | My Renovation Secrets

I got mine at Bunnings some years ago. I've been able to achieve a nice line between wall and ceiling quite easily without masking. Just let the ceiling paint come down a few cm on the wall first, and then apply wall colour with the edger.

G'day,

+1 for the Shur-line edger gizmo, used one in every room of my house. As Strangerep says, take it easy loading it up with paint and you'll be fine.

Novice

Are those pads in general very good, or is it that Shure Line is the best?

Flaccid Member - 1k Club Member

agree shur-lines pads (and similar) are awesome on plasterboard, not sure how well they will work on bessa blocks, plus it wont fill the mortar gaps. you could get a flat bit of zinc sheet and hold that up in the corner of the cornice and wall and paint hard up to that to stop getting paint on the blocks.

Apprentice (new member)