Hire the best Painter

Internal airless - Order of work- masking - backrolling

Smile Internal airless - Order of work- masking - backrolling

Hey
    I am planning to spray our renovation, three rooms (approx room sizes 5 x 5m, 5 x 8, 4 x 3) with an airless gun with a 517 tip. As I have never used one to spray indoors before, just outdoor single colour stuff, I was wondering what is the best order of work.

I will enamel the mouldings with a foam roller before they are installed , leaving just the walls and ceilings to paint with the airless gun. Ceilings are paper faced gyprock and walls are hard set plaster.

This goes against brush and roller methods, but I was thinking of painting the walls first. Here is my plan
    1. Sealer/undercoat the ceilings & back roll
    2. Seal/under coat the walls & back roll
    3. 2 x top coats on walls
    4. Mask wall off at bottom edge of cornice with blue mask and plastic and just letting it hang down (Otherwise if I do the ceiling before the walls, it seems more fiddly to mask upwards and have to stick the plastic in two places.)
    5. 2 x topcoats on ceiling

In regard to masking, the other option I was thinking of was skip masking the cornice/wall join and to actually cut in a thin line along the the top of the wall by brush, and then after it has dried just use a 600x400mm thin plastic 'wobble' board and have a helper hold it in place where the cornice meets the wall, while I spray underneath or above it. This might save on fiddly masking. But I know from doing similar things and using a straight guide with a brush that it needs constant cleaning. But I have seen the outside of a house painted with no use of masking tape, just a 'wobble board' near the windows, and it turned out fine.
    To wobble board or not to wobble board at wall/cornice join - that is the question??