Hire the best Painter

Putty around windows - what type

Default Putty around windows - what type

About to paint some of the window frames at the back of my house. I notice that some of the putty around the window is loose and so I will need to re-putty.

What type of putty is used for windows? Anything specific?

Thanks.
    I'm no expert, but know enough to be dangerous...

Golden Member

Quote Originally Posted by Gooner View Post
    About to paint some of the window frames at the back of my house. I notice that some of the putty around the window is loose and so I will need to re-putty.

What type of putty is used for windows? Anything specific?

Thanks.
    I bought some recently when I picked up some glass replacement.
    I'll check the brand tomorrow as I'm not near the job. I thought the best place
    to purchase would be a glass place.
    Putty is not used much these days and can lay on the shelf of hardware stores for ages.
    Remember to work the putty before you apply it.

Make sure you buy a putty knife as well.

i bought some recently to do the same thing, some of the old putty was all brittle and falling out along the bottom of some window frames. someone here suggested selleys special putty but when I went to bunnings the tub was much more than I needed and since I only needed a small amount I bought this one instead which came in a really small tub

Selleys Woodfilling Putty:

http://www.selleys.com.au/Selleys-Wo...y/default.aspx

Also a Selleys product but always (for me) cheaper than the Selleys brand of so-called Special Putty. Works a treat and I've done more than s few windows with it.
    Joined RF in 2006...Resigned in 2020.

Golden Member

Conway linseed oil putty was the product the glass place gave me to replace new
    pane to old wooden window.400g for $6
    Takes a bit to get used to the knife and finishing. you can use a small scrapper as well.
    linseed putty will take a week or two to form a hard skin before you can paint.