Hire the best Bricklayer

Damp double brick wall

Novice

Default Damp double brick wall

This is the southern wall of our 80 yo house.

There are damp readings on the inside walls along this wall.

There is a bathroom which needs gutting and may be contributing to damp, roof seems ok but we will have it looked at.

Obviously needs to clean out garden, you can see part of the huge concrete slab (6m x 10m?) which basically covers ground along entire side of house.

We also know the brickwork needs repointing, could this be letting in water?

Haven't been under house myself yet, but building inspection specifically states there is good ventilation and no evidence of drainage problems.

I assume it's rising damp and we will need to have a barrier put in?

Can someone talk me through how to best tackle the issue? Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails image-3686406319.jpg  

Hi,

I'm no expert but we have a similar aged house in Sydney and also have some damp issues I'm working through at the moment.

First thing you need to do is determine what type of damp it is before you rush into any remedies. It may not be rising damp as the floor seems reasonably high and doesn't look like there are any signs of efflorescence on the outside bricks (although maybe the previous owners did a big clean and replaster like ours did). Is there a damp proof course, hard to see from the picture. Also check all the obvious things like gutters overflowing into the garden bed, leaking downpipe saturating the garden bed etc....

Do you have any symtpoms inside or is it just something that was noted on the report. Any mould etc..? If you have mould the damp could be caused by condensation in the room if it is cold and lacks ventilation.

4K Club Member

Southern walls get a lot of rain and very little sun, also a garden against a home is a no no, so get rid of the garden and also check the hottie is not leaking.