Hire the best Concreting Expert

Concrete slab tolerances

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    76

    Default Concrete slab tolerances

    Hi got a slab done professionally. About 6 metres x 6 metres. Now the problem is it's not square. I measured across and it's about 30mm out in some places. Haven't done the diagonals yet.
    <o></o>
    Just wondering what sort of tolerance is allowed as I assumed it should be pretty much spot on or maybe 3-5mm out at max.<o></o>
    <o></o>
    I'm guessing now that it's all done there’s not a lot that can be done...<o></o>

  2. #2
    Member Calm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Ballarat Vctoria
    Age
    66
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Com_VC View Post
    I'm guessing now that it's all done there’s not a lot that can be done...<O
    If you haven't paid for it there is probably a fair bit can be done, If you have paid for it i guess it depends on whether they want to do it.
    regards

    David


    "Tell him he's dreamin."
    "How's the serenity" (from "The Castle")

  3. #3
    Tradesman Cementer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Newcastle
    Age
    52
    Posts
    86

    Default

    There's no tolerance for shonky work. It should be spot on or at the worst, say 10mm across the diags. No more than that for a 6x6.
    But now that its done. What is the slab for, a shed or something? How critical is it? If it isn't too critical then maybe a dollar or too knocked off the price???

  4. #4
    Senior Member DavidG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Conder, ACT
    Age
    75
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Saw a small slab for a shed that was half a brick longer one one side.
    Shonky was at work.
    For the best results I use -

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Outer East - Melbourne
    Posts
    346

    Default

    If I can get a 13 x 7 metre with diagonals only 5mm out, and widths only varying by 10mm out, then there should be at least that or better on a smaller slab

  6. #6
    That's SIR!!......Not CUR Ivan in Oz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    On the Downs, Darling SEQld
    Posts
    354

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by peter_sm View Post
    If I can get a 13 x 7 metre with diagonals only 5mm out, and widths only varying by 10mm out, then there should be at least that or better on a smaller slab
    Me thinks the 5mm and 10mm should be the other way round.

    All Variances 'should' be less than 1/4" [6.35mm]

    My 12M x 9M Slab was well within these,
    Both,
    Sides and Diagonals....................I'm Quite pleased
    Navvi

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Outer East - Melbourne
    Posts
    346

    Default

    No that is correct. The corner diagonals were 5mm out, and the width varied by 10mm when measuring across the slab due to pressure exerted on the sides of the formwork. This created a 10mm'ish wiggle. The corners don't blow out or move, because they are, well corners.

    As the slab had a stud wall on it, which has a small overhang anyway, such a small wiggle is irrelevant and unseen.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ivan in Oz View Post
    Me thinks the 5mm and 10mm should be the other way round.

    All Variances 'should' be less than 1/4" [6.35mm]

    My 12M x 9M Slab was well within these,
    Both,
    Sides and Diagonals....................I'm Quite pleased

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    76

    Default

    There was a 60mm difference between the diagonals, it's all been sorted now, probably about 5mm out or so now.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><o></o>
    <o></o>
    Didn't end up paying the total amount. Will wait till the shed is erected.<o></o>

    Thanks for the advice.

  9. #9
    That's SIR!!......Not CUR Ivan in Oz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    On the Downs, Darling SEQld
    Posts
    354

    Default Pressure

    Quote Originally Posted by peter_sm View Post
    No that is correct.
    < SNIP >
    due to pressure exerted on the sides of the formwork.
    I believe many People do NOT realise how much Pressure can be exerted on the formwork.
    That's why many Concreters have,
    WHAT APPEARS TO BE,
    AN EXCESSIVELY lot of Formwork Reinforcement and Stabilization.

    Even MORE Pressure when the Concrete is Vibrated
    Navvi

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2007, 04:23 PM
  2. to Lay a Concrete slab?
    By cilkorules in forum Concreting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th Aug 2007, 11:27 AM
  3. Concrete slab
    By Dart in forum Structural Renovation
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th May 2006, 11:38 AM
  4. Extending a concrete slab
    By princhester in forum Concreting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24th Jul 2005, 08:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •