Hire the best Rendering Expert

Bagging in WA

Novice

Default Bagging in WA

Hi Everyone,

Just a quick one.

I am going to bag part of my house that is currently raked brickwork in good nick. Have read most of the previous comments on the forum on the "how to" but my question is what sand here in WA to use,

Seems like there are so many types and does it really matter??. The most common brickies sand would seem the go. I was planning to use that for the first coat to fill the rakes but was wondering is it the best for the actual final finishing coat??

6:1 mix? Do I need to use lime?
    Pre wet wall
    Fill rakes first coat then finish coat
    Keep wall wet if really hot weather

thanks for any advise

cheers
    Rugbynut

I'm no expert on this but seeing you have had no replies I'll give you my non expert opinion.
    As I understand it a bagged finish consists of a thin slurry wiped onto the wall (with a bag in the old days), so it really covers very little in the way of wall imperfections.
    This being the case you will need to fill the raked joints flush with the bricks otherwise it won't look very good.
    I think you should add lime to the mix to fill the rakes, otherwise you may have a little trouble making it stay in place. Maybe the lime is not neccessary for the bagging mix.
    Wash the wall to remove dust and dirt, and wet it pretty well before you start, this should improve adhesion.
    Brickies sand should be fine both for filling the raked joints and the bagging mix.
    I have done fair bit of rendering at my daughter's house in Perth (with good results
    ) and I have always used brickies sand and added lime to the mix.

Good Luck
    Regards Bradford

Novice

ok thanks Bradford. Ill give it a shot and see how it looks. Im not too concerned about it looking too smooth. anything is better than the horrible face bricks that are currently there

Owner Builder