Good quality tool set

Experienced

Default Good quality tool set

Hi, just after a 200-300 piece tool box set and noticed there are a lot of new brands popping up. I always liked Sidchrome to be a good quality brand, is there any other good quality brands out there that make tool sets?

Thanks,

Clay.

I used to be a motor mechanic and got fed up paying mega bucks for snap on stuff, then repco came out with a copy. Its cheap, good quality and doesnt hurt so much when you loose a spanner or have to cut one up as a special tool. Good waranty aswell. There are heaps of top quality brands but you do pay a fortune for them. The repco stuff is bloody good quality for the money.

2K Club Member

yep, i agree with repco brand, pretty good for me as well, i havent broken any of their stuff yet and its had a daily hammering and not too expensive.
    i only have one snapon socket, its an 8mm 6 sided for undoing rocker arms on ford falcon 6's as im always doing heads on them things they are that crappy. broken it 2 times with a breaker bar on the end and they have replaced it no questions asked twice.

Apprentice (new member)

kincrome is pretty good mate, i will say though i managed to break my vise grips. i broke the weld in the front grip and the head went all loose. but i dont think i filled out the warrenty card, or i may have lost it.

Apprentice (new member)

Depends on your usage really...trade quality I would go for the above mentioned brands; I use European tools myself (German/Swedish or English)

Sidchrome changed their warranty policy a while ago but are still a good buy (used to be like Snap On)

Repco are a good for light to medium type of work