106578

Hire the best Solar Panel Expert and save up to 40%

PV System and 3 phase network supply

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    129

    Default PV System and 3 phase network supply

    I understand PV systems systems are generally wired to one phase. In this case for example if a PV system is generating 2kw and the household consumption is 1kw per phase (total 3kw) is the billing a nett of 1kw or is 2kw being purchased from network and 1kw being sold into network? A strange question possibly but in WA currently it costs ~24c per kwhr to buy from network but only 7c/kwhr is credited for energy exported to the network.

  2. #2
    3K Club Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Daylesford Australia
    Posts
    3,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Geoff2005 View Post
    I understand PV systems systems are generally wired to one phase. In this case for example if a PV system is generating 2kw and the household consumption is 1kw per phase (total 3kw) is the billing a nett of 1kw or is 2kw being purchased from network and 1kw being sold into network? A strange question possibly but in WA currently it costs ~24c per kwhr to buy from network but only 7c/kwhr is credited for energy exported to the network.
    Without looking it up. Seeing as the network buys and sells, i'd say they buy the 2 at a cheap rate and sell back the 1 at an expensive (relatively) rate. Otherwise, they would only be selling 1 and not making a profit on the other.

  3. #3
    3K Club Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    3,585

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Geoff2005 View Post
    I understand PV systems systems are generally wired to one phase.
    Depends. Ours is wired to three phase. In any case the import/export meter works out what is going on, and any time your consumption is less than the PV production it will register the Kw going out in the export register.

    woodbe.

  4. #4
    Old Chippy 6K
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    69
    Posts
    6,556

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by woodbe View Post
    Depends. Ours is wired to three phase. In any case the import/export meter works out what is going on, and any time your consumption is less than the PV production it will register the Kw going out in the export register.

    woodbe.
    PV systems are installed using smart meters and they are set up to work all that out - you are not being dudded . . .except on the 7c price on which your utility is making a killing - with the connivance of the regulators and state governments who allow that to happen.
    Advice from me on this forum is general and for guidance based on information given by the member posing the question. Not to be used in place of professional advice from people appropriately qualified in the relevant field. All structural work must be approved and constructed to the BCA or other relevant standards by suitably licensed persons. The person doing the work and reading my advice accepts responsibility for ensuring the work done accords with the applicable law.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    129

    Default

    I thought it would be the case that is total nett and software in the meter could work it out. The PV reps didn't know the answer and I couldn't find any detail of that level on the energy providers website.

  6. #6
    Old Chippy 6K
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    69
    Posts
    6,556

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Geoff2005 View Post
    I thought it would be the case that is total nett and software in the meter could work it out. The PV reps didn't know the answer and I couldn't find any detail of that level on the energy providers website.
    Might be a good idea to talk with some other PV people - that's pretty basic sort of info - even the sales guy should know!
    Advice from me on this forum is general and for guidance based on information given by the member posing the question. Not to be used in place of professional advice from people appropriately qualified in the relevant field. All structural work must be approved and constructed to the BCA or other relevant standards by suitably licensed persons. The person doing the work and reading my advice accepts responsibility for ensuring the work done accords with the applicable law.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bloss View Post
    - you are not being dudded . . .except on the 7c price on which your utility is making a killing - with the connivance of the regulators and state governments who allow that to happen.
    Don't get me started!

    So they say the production cost into the grid is 7c per unit, roughly 1/3 the total cost before the carbon tax. The other 2/3 of the cost is delivering the power and admin of power company. I believe this when I see they spent 40k on a farewell do for an exec. This is a state corporation and we have no choice of supplier, the state corporation says they must keep raising prices to cover their costs. I think they must have an impenetrable layer of management that prevents any business savy ministers getting in and cutting out the fat.

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2

    Default

    The smart meter works it all out, with our rubbish FIT in WA you would be best to size your system on what you will actually use from your system as the ROI for a big system if your not a big power user is many years.

    Did he tell you that Western Power require either a 3 phase inverter or two inverters on two seperate phases? Western Power do not allow the connection of a single invertor to a three phase supply

  9. #9
    Old Chippy 6K
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    69
    Posts
    6,556

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Robsrangers View Post
    The smart meter works it all out, with our rubbish FIT in WA you would be best to size your system on what you will actually use from your system as the ROI for a big system if your not a big power user is many years.

    Did he tell you that Western Power require either a 3 phase inverter or two inverters on two seperate phases? Western Power do not allow the connection of a single invertor to a three phase supply

    An old thread - reckon he might have it sorted . . . gotta watch the dates . . .
    Advice from me on this forum is general and for guidance based on information given by the member posing the question. Not to be used in place of professional advice from people appropriately qualified in the relevant field. All structural work must be approved and constructed to the BCA or other relevant standards by suitably licensed persons. The person doing the work and reading my advice accepts responsibility for ensuring the work done accords with the applicable law.

  10. #10
    Apprentice (new member)
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    2

    Default Three Phase Metering And Solar In SA

    Quote Originally Posted by Robsrangers View Post
    ......Did he tell you that Western Power require either a 3 phase inverter or two inverters on two seperate phases? Western Power do not allow the connection of a single invertor to a three phase supply
    We're just about to sign off on the specs for our new house, we'll be getting solar power and three-phase electrickery.

    Any idea about SA, Are our three-phase meters smart enuff to handle one-phase "solar return" or will I need my electrician to organise two meters ?

    We will be getting the solar installation done on handover, so while the builder will be organising the meter the solar will be nothing to do with the them.

    Thanks,

    Pepsii.

Similar Threads

  1. Wanted - Brivis Network v2 - working or not
    By nbl1268 in forum Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Apr 2011, 09:13 PM
  2. setting up network
    By sundancewfs in forum Television, Computers & Phones
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 15th Dec 2010, 11:04 PM
  3. Brivis Network (on/off) problem
    By edam7060 in forum Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd May 2010, 01:54 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Apr 2007, 11:28 PM
  5. 3 phase split system
    By tcns in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st Dec 2006, 01:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •