Hire the best Waterproofing Expert

Outdoor deck / terrace tiling

Novice

Default Outdoor deck / terrace tiling

Sorry for the crappy photos, but it's dark already and looking for answers is driving me crazy so I need to post now!

Want to tile the small (4x2m) terrace/outdoor deck, which currently comprises 4 large, thick/heavy duty sheets of some kind. There's basically no 'bounce'.

There are 4 joints between the sheets through which a tiny amount of leaking occurs.

I believe I need at least a 2 degree fall, so first question is, how do I control and measure that when I apply the waterproofing membrane?

Second, do I need to seal the joints with reinforcing fabric/tape?

Third, is there such a thing as outdoor waterproofing membrane?

Thanks!
    ====

I'm not a building Engineer, but I'd suggest you get one in because in my mind that doesn't look too well constructed (for an elevated deck).
    Maybe it's just that I've seen too many of these elevated decks collapse lately.

Am I alone in this opinion?

You are spot on UB, those 90x45 joist span 2 meters, wrong to begin with. If you add cement bed to give it some fall and tiles, it will collapse under it's own weight.
    And the balcony on top of it, propped up with sticks sitting on the lower veranda?
    From where I am standing that is a demolition job, certainly not a tiling job.

Beyond the structural aspects of what you're trying to do - which may put too much weight on the structure - you've got a second issue. There is no real way of building up the height on that deck without ending up with the tiles sitting higher than the entrance to the house, which would likely end up a waterproofing issue.

I'd recommend you get a builder to reconstruct the deck to ensure structural stability and allow for a grade which won't end up with the tiles/screed sitting higher than the inside of the house.
    The WaterStop Shop
    waterproofing supply professionals
    Oakleigh, VIC

Novice