New error msg since last move?

Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    Dances with splinters Skew ChiDAMN!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Paper bag on side o' road
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,142

    Default New error msg since last move?

    OK, the first pic is something I'm well'n'truly used to by now... especially just after midnight on the last server. Occasionally, only occasionally mind, I'd get a "Server is too busy" type msg. Now I'm seeing it at random times throughout the day... but what's worse is the second pic. It seems to come and go any old time it feels like it, at least once during every session. Sometimes it disappears at a click of the refresh button, at others I have to walk away for an hour or three.

    Is this being generated by V-bulletin or the server itself? I'm guessing it's to do with the latest VB update (from the logo) but...

    Call me curious.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails timeout-sigh.jpg   sigh.jpg  
    I may be weird, but I'm saving up to become eccentric.

  2. #2
    Banned Auzzie turner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Perth/Yanchep
    Age
    29
    Posts
    73

    Default

    I encoutered that the other night as well.

  3. #3
    Timber Hoarder Cliff Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Minbun, FNQ, Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,950

    Default

    I get a couple of 'Server can not be found' errors every session.
    Sometimes just refreshing the page fixes it & sometimes every new page times out til I close them all & start again.

    This new server is fast.... when it feels like it, bit like a teenage boy.
    Motor bike compared to cleaning bedroom.
    Cliff

    ...if all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    72
    Posts
    73

    Default

    I've also been getting sql errors, which I have never got before, and sometimes it takes 'forever' to load pages.
    Chris
    ========================================

  5. #5

    Senior Administrator

    The puter Guru


    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Below Australia -20 years
    Age
    44
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skew ChiDAMN!! View Post
    Now I'm seeing it at random times throughout the day... but what's worse is the second pic.
    Hi there

    When did you last get this error?

    regards,
    Steve

    Are you a registered member? Why not? [COLOR=#495e72]

  6. #6
    Dances with splinters Skew ChiDAMN!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Paper bag on side o' road
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cyc View Post
    When did you last get this error?
    Hmmm... I don't think I've seen it today, but it reared its' ugly head a couple of times yesterday and several times on Sat night.

    I didn't record times, although that snapshot has a timestamp of 00:12 last Sunday morning. I've been meaning to ask about it for a while, but keep getting sidetracked.

    Edit: I tell a lie. Copped it about 6PM(ish) this arvo, which is what reminded me to post the query. Nothing wrong with my memory that a lead injection wouldn't fix. [sigh]
    I may be weird, but I'm saving up to become eccentric.

  7. #7

    Senior Administrator

    The puter Guru


    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Below Australia -20 years
    Age
    44
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skew ChiDAMN!! View Post
    Hmmm... I don't think I've seen it today, but it reared its' ugly head a couple of times yesterday and several times on Sun night.

    I didn't record times, although that snapshot has a timestamp of 00:12 last Sunday morning. I've been meaning to ask about it for a while, but keep getting sidetracked.

    Edit: I tell a lie. Copped it about 6PM(ish) this arvo, which is what reminded me to post the query. Nothing wrong with my memory that a lead injection wouldn't fix. [sigh]
    Thanks, we had some problems saturday night/sunday morning. I'm pretty sure i've sorted it out (i hope). If you see a run of those errors again please let us know.

    cheers
    Steve

    Are you a registered member? Why not? [COLOR=#495e72]

  8. #8
    Apprentice (new member) MoonShine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Age
    66
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi gang, I'm not suggesting what I have to say is your problem, but a lot of people are coming to me with their PC's saying they are having drama's loading up certain sites lately.

    The first thing I do is check to see if they have installed, the old Microsoft Java, or have upgraded to Sun Java.

    Seems the older MS Java is having trouble reading scripts from many websites including eg., eBay. Not many are aware MS Java is being taken over by Sun in a big way.

    Installing Sun Java fixed nearly every one except for one chap who's IE browser was an old v5.

    Hope this helps.

  9. #9
    Member Rocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Elimbah, QLD
    Posts
    92

    Default

    So how can we install Sun Java? I got an error message like Skew's second picture a few minutes ago.

    Rocker

  10. #10
    Gra
    Gra is offline
    Member for stupid ideas Gra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Hell with fluro lighting
    Age
    52
    Posts
    521

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skew ChiDAMN!! View Post
    especially just after midnight

    Skew,

    It is the server telling you to go to bed
    When given a choice, people will always do the dumbest thing under the circumstances.


  11. #11

    Senior Administrator

    The puter Guru


    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Below Australia -20 years
    Age
    44
    Posts
    86

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rocker View Post
    So how can we install Sun Java? I got an error message like Skew's second picture a few minutes ago.

    Rocker
    Hi Rocker

    If you get that error, the problem is caused on the server rather than your PC.

    It lasted 2 or 3 minutes, i'm not sure what caused it yet.

    cheers
    Steve

    Are you a registered member? Why not? [COLOR=#495e72]

  12. #12
    Apprentice (new member) MoonShine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Age
    66
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Yep will go along with that Steve, been having trouble loading up pages myself recently.
    Anyway, Sun Java will enable you to visit a lot more sites without stress when it isn't a server issue.

    Sun Java is easily found in Google and a standard part of later Microsoft platforms.

  13. #13
    Timber Hoarder Cliff Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Minbun, FNQ, Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,950

    Default

    Something new & odd now happening.... it is not setting threads as read after I have read them. Weird.
    Cliff

    ...if all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail...

  14. #14
    Deceased Auld Bassoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East Bentleigh, Melbourne, Vic
    Age
    65
    Posts
    314

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisb691 View Post
    I've also been getting sql errors, which I have never got before, and sometimes it takes 'forever' to load pages.
    Likewise!

    I've also had the (VB?) originated dbms error; not every session, but frequently enough.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    72
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Page load times tonight, are the worst I ever had on the forum. Getting lots of of can't load page errors (timeouts?), but get the page 'instantly' when I hit the refresh. Just needed 6 attempts to upload a small pic. Browsing te rest of the web with no problems, including the woodworking channel.
    Chris
    ========================================

  16. #16
    Dances with splinters Skew ChiDAMN!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Paper bag on side o' road
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,142

    Default

    Also getting the timeouts tonight, but at least I am getting through after clicking refresh. 'Tis far, far better than sitting there for an hour or two, clicking refresh every 5 mins until it deigns to let you in.

    The new site has disadvantages but overall I'd say it's a hell of an improvement over the last 'un!
    I may be weird, but I'm saving up to become eccentric.

  17. #17
    Timber Hoarder Cliff Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Minbun, FNQ, Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,950

    Default Get a better mouse.

    This new one seems to stop for a sheyet or something about every hour or so, server just goes dead in the water for a couple of minutes, 'can not find server', &, if you wait long enough, a refresh fixes it .... I reckon the flam'n mouse is getting out of the wheel & nick'n off for a smoke.
    Cliff

    ...if all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail...

  18. #18
    Timber Hoarder Cliff Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Minbun, FNQ, Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,950

    Default

    Had this come up about 4 times in a row & then it changed to the old server busy message again.

    Around about 10 to 10 tonight.
    Cliff

    ...if all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail...

  19. #19
    Dances with splinters Skew ChiDAMN!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Paper bag on side o' road
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,142

    Default

    That's my old bug-bear Cliff, but I haven't seen it for a week or so now.

    I'm glad to see it's found a good home.
    I may be weird, but I'm saving up to become eccentric.

  20. #20
    Timber Hoarder Cliff Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Minbun, FNQ, Australia
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,950

    Default

    I've had this for the last 3 minutes...

    <TABLE cellSpacing=5 cellPadding=3 width=400><TBODY><TR><TD id=tableProps2 vAlign=center align=left width=360>The page cannot be displayed

    </TD></TR><TR><TD id=tablePropsWidth width=400 colSpan=2>The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.</TD></TR><TR><TD id=tablePropsWidth width=400 colSpan=2><HR color=#c0c0c0 noShade>Please try the following:
    • <LI id=instructionsText1>Click the [IMG]res://shdoclc.dll/refresh.gif[/IMG] Refresh button, or try again later.
      <LI id=instructionsText2>If you typed the page address in the Address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.
      <LI id=instructionsText3>To check your connection settings, click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Connections tab, click Settings. The settings should match those provided by your local area network (LAN) administrator or Internet service provider (ISP). <LI id=list4>See if your Internet connection settings are being detected. You can set Microsoft Windows to examine your network and automatically discover network connection settings (if your network administrator has enabled this setting).
      1. <LI id=instructionText6>Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. <LI id=instructionText7>On the Connections tab, click LAN Settings.
      2. Select Automatically detect settings, and then click OK.
      <LI id=instructionsText5>Some sites require 128-bit connection security. Click the Help menu and then click About Internet Explorer to determine what strength security you have installed. <LI id=instructionsText4>If you are trying to reach a secure site, make sure your Security settings can support it. Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Advanced tab, scroll to the Security section and check settings for SSL 2.0, SSL 3.0, TLS 1.0, PCT 1.0.
    • Click the [IMG]res://shdoclc.dll/back.gif[/IMG] Back button to try another link.


    Cannot find server or DNS Error
    Internet Explorer


    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    Cliff

    ...if all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail...

Similar Threads

  1. error code F6 Mistral split system aircon
    By bulkyboxbob in forum Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2008, 03:56 PM
  2. Structural post move?
    By dazzler in forum Structural Renovation
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th May 2006, 08:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •