Here’s one for the moderators to consider - a sub forum for community projects.

I’m sure that there are lots of forum members involved in doing voluntary work for non profit organisations, charities, schools and other community groups who could use an extra hand or help from people who have skills in other areas such as plumbing, electrical, plaster, metal work etc. Or if really necessary find people who would be prepared to do work at “mates” rates.

Also suppliers willing to donate materials and services or supply at “cost”

By way of example here are two projects that I’m currently working on.

Edgar’s Mission is a not for profit sanctuary for neglected, abused and discarded farm animals. It is located just outside Kilmore (Vic) about 60 kms from Melbourne. http://www.edgarsmission.org.au

I have been working there (most weekends and holidays etc) for about 2 years doing all of the usual things around a farm including fencing, building and machinery maintenance. Construction of sheds, animal shelters etc. Now I am about to commence a total renovation of the residence and could use some help with plastering, plumbing and electrical work as well as an extra hand or two to help with all the usual bits and pieces that goes with a renovation.

There are plans to build a new barn & education centre when enough money has been raised.

However like most community projects money is pretty tight as most of it goes to food, water and vet services for the animals. The sanctuary survives on donations and the hard work of volunteers. There are no paid staff working on the farm.

The second project is working with Friends of the Earth in South Melbourne. Welcome to the South Melbourne Commons | Friends of the Earth Melbourne