Hire the best Home Extension Experts

Removing wall. Best way to prop up the underpurlin ??

Default Removing wall. Best way to prop up the underpurlin ??

I need to remove part of a load bearing wall. I will be Installing an lvl from underneath the ceiling, supported by triple studs either end. The wall being removed has 3 struts sitting on top of it.

My question is, What is the best way to prop up the underpurlin, whilst the wall is being removed?

I am thinking, build a temporary stud wall paaralel to the one being removed. Then put some temporary struts in from the temp wall to the underpurlin. Then the walll can be removed, and the LVL can be installed. Temp wall/struts can now be pulled down.

Also, is it ok to leave the top plate in, and have the LVL hard up to it ? Or do people remove the top plate aswell, and re-nail the struts on to the new beam ?

I have attached a diagram to show what i mean. untitled.jpg

I am by no means an expert in this area but I thought that acrow props were designed for this type of thing ?

This is a very dangerous thing to do if you don't have experience, I would recommend you get a licensed chippy or builder to assist you doing this.

I have a few questions.

Why are you putting the LVL under the ceiling, you can put it in the roof cavity and strut straight off that, it will need to span across walls to do this successfully.

How big is the opening you will be creating ?

What is the current sized opening in the wall, or is there currently no opening ?

What sized LVL are you intending on using ?

What type of floor do you have there, Timber or Slab ?

What type of roof do you have, Tiles or Colorbond ?

Why did you choose a triple stud ?

What thickness are the walls 70mm or 90mm ?

Can you post a few pics of the roof showing the struts etc ?

Quote Originally Posted by METRIX View Post