Hire the best Gardeners

Making a Playground

Default Making a Playground

I have a big backyard that is near-level, relatively empty, and full of weeds. My father-in-law (who is an excavator) offered to come down next weekend (long weekend) to level out the backyard and make way for paths and a playground we have been plannikng to build.

Thats all great, but means I have one week to plan all of this. So I want to see if I can get some quick answers here.

After leveling out the place, we want to reserve an area about 8m x 8m for a playgound.

Questions.

1. What's the best proceedure for this considering I want the top surface to be bark? E.g, Weedmat, crushed rock, bark?

2. Where can I get the type of bark used in suburban parks? Typical bark seems "dirty". The type used in suburban playgrounds seem much cleaner and chunkier. (I'm in outer eastern Melbourne).

Thanks.
    I'm no expert, but know enough to be dangerous...

1K Club Member

In Sydney we use a product called Soft Fall Bark , (check out local suppliers) has to be 250 mm deep, got a link here, Bark & Compost - Soft Fall Bark

"Bark" which are clean and chunky, perhaps you are talking about woodchips rather than bark per se. Try redgum chips or pine chips. See link

http://daisysgardencomau.melbourneit..._task=purchase

Thanks guys. I found a local place (Bark King) that sells "softplay" bark for playgrounds. I am sure it's the same kind of 10mm graded bark as other places sell though. In quantities I need (over 20 m^3) they can do it for around $42 per m^3 incl delivery.

Now I need to figure out whats the best way to place it down. I was going to put down a weed mat under all the bark, but I have read it may be a waste of time and money. I believe a 30cm covering of the bark should stop all weeds from growing anyway.

Anyone have any ideas about this?

Apprentice (new member)

Are you putting a border around the playground area? If so, what will it be (pine, jarrah, bricks etc)?