Hire the best Gardeners

Raised vegie garden in treated pine?

Default Raised vegie garden in treated pine?

Hi all,

Is it okay to use standard H4 treated pine for a raised vegie garden or are there question marks about the chemical treatment getting into the food? I know there's a product called Ecowood, but obviously if can save some money, would prefer to do so.

Advice please!

Cheers,
    K

I personally wouldn't use treated pine for a vege garden. I would be looking for a better alternative.
    I'm no expert, but know enough to be dangerous...

Put plastic sheeting in around the sides (but not the bottom) if you are concerned. It will also stop the pine from continually being wet.

Apprentice (new member)

I personally wouldn't use it at all.

As far as I am aware even "ecowood" has some sort of copper based treatment to it.

If you can get hold of some hardwood sleepers they are probably be the better bet.
    My Grandfather used old roof tiles and short pieces of star picket, but he didn't need to build his beds up to a great height.

Then again I ahve seen some success with plastic but make sure you tuck it under the wood so it ensures water flows to the outside of the sleepers rather than down in to the bed itself. The downside is that it breaks down in the end, and it's really easy to breach with a fork or spade..

A way you can do it without laying bricks or blocks and quickly but a bit heavy is to use preformed concrete lintels check your local garden centre, but most applications will have some sort of chemical.

Personally I would stay away from CCA products as they are restricted use products!

...or you could refer to the document put out by the CSIRO

The facts about CCA-treated timber (Fact Sheet)

...and see that there are no problems with using treated pine unless you are actually eating TP sawdust by the handful or intend to burn it and inhale the smoke.