Hire the best Door Expert

An idea on how to insert a lintel from one side of a brick wall without supports

Apprentice (new member)

Default An idea on how to insert a lintel from one side of a brick wall without supports

I realise this is a common question. Almost all of the posts I've read involve using a prop to support the brick structure above before cutting away bricks and installing a lintel, especially if it's a load bearing wall.

However, I really want to avoid the use of an acro prop with needles or strongboy because: a) the concrete floor underneath is strongly sloped (external wall), b) I don't have much overhead room (internal wall), c) it costs money to hire, and d) I have no experience with it. So, I've thought of a way of installing a lintel that doesn't involve supports and can be done with access to only one side of the wall. But, I want to run it by the experienced people here before actually doing it!

My specific situation:
    External load bearing double-brick wall with cavity. The internal wall is supporting floor joists and the external wall is supporting the roof. The opening is at the basement level with single level above. Lime mortar.

The plan: