Hire the best Handyman

Carpet Laying

Novice

Default Carpet Laying

We have just got rid of the adult kids and their bedrooms have a pongy smell about them . We have cleaned the carpet and tried all sorts of nice carpet smelly potions but we think that their cats have sprayed in there. We have resigned ourselves to the fact that we may have to replace the carpet to rid ourselves of this smell. Also the carpet is old and really needs replacing anyway.

How hard a job is it to lay new carpet and what tools do I need ? Is it wise to replace the underlay as well when putting in new carpet ? I am an upholsterer and have had plenty of experience cutting around sometimes weird shapes ect.
    Neil.

Out of interest what kind of savings can you make doing it yourself
    I just love sheepies!

Apprentice (new member)

First of all, I am not a professional, but I have layed carpet myself.New underlay is a must with new carpet as old stuff compresses and new prolongs the life of the carpet.The tool needed to stretch carpet to the outter edges of the room can be very hard on the knees,but it needs to stretch out over the strips or battens that have tacks in them to hold carpet tight,then I use a bolster to knock carpet behind strips.Your trade will definately come in handy. Good luck Martin

China

I beleive most hire company's have the kickers (stretchers) and the joining irons, I have done it myself but for what I consider to be a small cost in having it done, I would not do it myself again it is hell on your knees not just from kneeling for a couple of hours but using the kicker as well

Although i try to do most jobs myself, this is one that i use the professionals for. The cost is usually minimal and they may deliver the carpets for free when they fit them. I have heard it said that a cheap carpet laid professionally looks better than a good carpet laid poorly and i would tend to agree. Save your knees and get the professionals in. Paul