Hire the best Handyman

Partition Wall Help

Apprentice (new member)

Default Partition Wall Help

Hi,

I'm new to DIY projects and am looking at installing a partition wall. I've read and watched a bunch of videos etc., but I'm still unsure about what tools/fixings to be used when it comes to attaching it to the concrete slab and our roof. Our floor is a concrete slab so I'm assuming a tekbolt or something like that but our roof is also concrete with some kind of metal facade/cladding and I'm not entirely sure what to use to fix the frame to the roof.

mvimg_20200815_142548.jpg
    This is what the ceiling looks like if anyone is able to identify or give advice on how to go about affixing a frame to it!

Thanks!

Looks like Bondek
    https://www.lysaght.com/products/bondek

The steel sheeting is laid as permanent formwork for the concrete slab to be poured on top, the structural component is the concrete slab, the steel is really just formwork.

Does the partition need to be attached to the ceiling ? If it runs from wall to wall you probably don’t need fixing at the top, concrete / masonry anchors for the floor and wall.

7K Club Member

If that roof is exposed to the weather, I wouldn't be putting holes in it without knowing a lot about the waterproofing etc.

Apprentice (new member)

I'm not sure if it needs to be attached to the ceiling. The wall would span roughly 3310mm X 2400mm and would include a door. If I can get away with floor and wall fixings only then I will but as mentioned; I'm new to building and DIY so I'm not entirely sure!

If the partition extends from one wall to another and is 3310 long I would not attach to the ceiling.
    Just use a single piece of 90x45 as the top plate, do not have a join.

For just a partition wall the topplate (if it is to be a stud wall) could be adhered with polyurethane or perhaps stud adhesive. For ease of construction I would resist anchoring it with fixings if possible.